šŸ‘‘ Protect your peace

Plus: It's World Book Day!

Whatā€™s up, Hustlers!Ā 

Consider this a reminder to protect your peace.

Don't let the urgent fire drill emails or calls from your kids' school consume the important moments of preserving your peace.

For me, dedicating time to protect my peace through working out, reading, or catching up on TV is crucial. These activities create a foundational layer that enables me to deal with the urgent.

Let's consider how we can create schedules, establish routines, and enlist accountability partners to protect our peace, so we can have the strength for when urgent comes knocking. šŸ’ŖĀ 

Xx Robin

Did a friend forward this to you? You can subscribe here to start building your own superhero toolkit.

Ā .WHAT Iā€™M CELEBRATING.Ā 

World Book Day!Ā šŸ“šļø First, I want to express a big thank you to everyone who has supported my books over the years. With "Shut Up and Run," "Strong Mamaā€, ā€œStrong Baby" and my empowerment journal "Welcome, Hustler," I have found immense joy in creating and sharing works that align with my passions. However, the highlight of this journey has been connecting with communities of hustlers who share the same goals, dreams, and ambitions.

This World Book Day, I am not only celebrating by diving into some great reads (obviously!), but also by sharing some tips on how to strengthen your reading practice ā¬‡ļøĀ 

  1. Put your book on your pillow after making your bed in the morning. Keeping a book easily accessible minimizes points of friction, making it a simple choice to read before going to sleep. šŸ›ļø

  2. Always travel with a book, whether itā€™s across the country or across town. Make it a no-brainer to reach for your book instead of mindlessly scrolling through your phone. šŸ§³

  3. Follow or join a book club for inspiration and accountability. This month, the Swagger Society Book Club is reading The Friction Project by Robert I. Sutton and Hugo Rao. šŸ‘‘Ā 

  4. Forget the idea of what you think reading should look like. It doesnā€™t have to be 50 pages a nightā€”it could be one page a day. šŸ“–

  5. Donā€™t feel pressured to finish a book. If you donā€™t like it, you can move on to something else. Personally, I give a book 50 pages to grab my attention. If Iā€™m not loving it by page 51, itā€™s back on the shelf. šŸ“šļø

Have you read any good books lately? If so, hit reply and let me know!

Ā .WHAT Iā€™M LOVING.Ā 

Venice šŸ‡®šŸ‡¹ Drew and I are on our way back from Venice, and let me tell you, it's been amazing! We had the best time soaking in the culture, enjoying delicious food, and exploring the streets (and canals šŸš£ā€ā™€ļø). I can't wait to share some of our highlights with yā€™all ā¬‡ļø

  • What I ate: The best french fries of my life at LPV RistoranteĀ šŸŸ These french fries were crispy on the outside, soft on the inside and perfectly warm. Iā€™m still thinking about themā€¦

  • What I drank: Delicious mocktails at La Tecia Vegana, an adorable vegan and organic spot that puts a fresh spin on local specialties.šŸ˜‹Ā 

  • What I wore: The Carbon38 Pleated Skirt over workout clothes and my GSTQ Tuxedo Blazer over everything. Fashion šŸ¤ Function.

  • Where I stayed: The Sina Centurion. This hotel was INCREDIBLE. Beautiful artwork, amazing accommodations, and the most epic views.

  • What I attended: Biennale ArteĀ šŸ–¼ļø I was blown away by Jeffrey Gibsonā€™s mixing of indigenous stories with Queer influences and Pablo Delanoā€™s installations on the histories and struggles of Latin American communities. Both exhibits were incredibly powerful.

  • What I carried: The Dagne Dover Luna BagĀ šŸ‘œ. Itā€™s a great shoulder bag that completes any look and was the perfect size to hold all my necessitiesā€”breast pump, passport, and #pursesnacks.

  • What I packed:Ā Pique matcha packetsĀ šŸ’š These packets were perfect to throw in my bag for on-the-go travel. The caffeine and l-theanine (a calming ingredient) gave me sustained energy throughout the day. Plus, the packets mix well with both hot and cold water, so I could easily use them on my flights and while running around Venice. Pro tip: For an extra protein boost, mix in some vegan vanilla protein powder! #ad

Is A Hot Girl Walk Enough Exercise? ā˜€ļø As yā€™all know, I care much more about the consistency of a movement practice rather than the intensity. I told TheSkimm team that consistently lacing up for a daily hot girl walk helps your sleep, balance, and overall health. But, I challenge you to add some resistance to your routine - power walking, adding hills or maybe a post-walk strength session. Try it out and see how it feels. Youā€™ll be surprised by your own strength.

This community is a powerhouse of hustlers. I'm constantly inspired by the incredible stories and accomplishments you share with me. Now, it's time to share them with all of you.

Instagram: fannny_pants
Facebook: allisonwiltonĀ 
LinkedIn: allisonfanaro

Name: Allison Fanaro

Hustler Highlight: ā€œI recently started a new job at a local ad agency as a creative director and am slaying the work! I was able to complete my first broadcast TV spot from concept to execution for a health insurance client, and recently one of my creative concepts was chosen new brand look and feel for one of our automotive clients!ā€

Self-Care Snack: ā€œMy mornings are a time for me to thrive in my self-care routine. I canā€™t get my day started without my dreamy under eye patches (keeping them in the fridge is the best!). I also use my mornings to hydrateā€”I try and finish a whole Stanley cup with water, greens and collagen before I head out of the house to the office. Once Iā€™m at my desk with my iced coffee in hand, I do a little journaling at work to get my thoughts gathered for the day ahead.ā€

Recent Read: ā€œA book I find myself picking up over and over is ā€˜Things Are What You Make of Them: Life Advice for Creativesā€˜ by Adam J. Kurtz. Itā€™s chock-full of inspirational nuggets that keep me going when Iā€™m feeling stuck or discouraged.ā€

Quote on Repeat: ā€œColor Outside the Linesā€
ā€œI have this on a bannerĀ (also Buffalo made!) on my wall at work. As a creative director, Iā€™m always searching to push boundaries with my ideas and work. This quote serves a broader audience as wellā€”it encourages people to push past the uncomfortable to their edgesā€”and thatā€™s what Swagger is all about! šŸ‘‘ā€

Interested in meeting other like-minded hustlers or sharing your highlights with The Pivot community? Explore the Swagger Society private app to keep connecting, pivoting, and leveling up!

Thanks for reading, Hustlers. Go out there, pivot with power, and stay curious about whatā€™s next.

Xx Robin ArzĆ³n

Got feedback? Hit reply and tell me what you thinkā€¦Iā€™m always looking to level up.