šŸ‘‘ Today is day one

Plus: My new morning ritual

Whatā€™s up, Hustlers!Ā 

How many times have you told yourself that ā€œone dayā€ you will do the thing - run the race, apply for the job, make the trip?

Thereā€™s never a good time to get uncomfortable. Just start! Create momentum by taking small, consistent actions.

The magic lies in the work we are avoiding.

Start your day one today.

Xx Robin

Did a friend forward this to you? You can subscribe here to start building your own superhero toolkit.

Ā .WHAT Iā€™M COOKING.Ā 

Tofu Black Bean Tacos with Katie Couric. I had the best time cooking (and dancing šŸ’ƒ ) in Katie's kitchen. She's been trying to eat less meat, so I showed her one of my favorite protein-packed recipes. Scrambled tofu black bean tacos are super simple and delicious. Tofu is a great base because it really absorbs whatever flavors you add into the mix. Below is the recipe we made, but feel free to spice it up however you'd like!

  1. Start by squeezing the moisture out of the tofu using your hands. Wrap the tofu in a clean cloth and place a weight on top of the wrapped tofu and set it aside.

  2. Heat 1 tablespoon of neutral oil in a pan. Add diced red onion, adobo seasoning and black beans.

  3. Crumble the tofu with your hands and add to the pan. Mix thoroughly with the bean and onion mixture. Add sazon seasoning.

  4. Add turmeric, garlic powder, chili powder, cumin, nutritional yeast (for some cheesy notes šŸ§€ ), marmite and salt. SautĆ© until thoroughly seasoned and mixed.

  5. Spoon the tofu black bean mixture onto cooked corn tortillas. Add cilantro, avocado, coconut yogurt, salsa, pomegranate arils, and a squeeze of lime to taste.

  6. Enjoy! šŸ‘©ā€šŸ³Ā 

Make sure to check out Katieā€™s food-focused newsletter, Good Taste, for new recipes, nutritional tips, and more!

Ā .WHAT Iā€™M LOVING.Ā 

A new morning ritual. As yā€™all know, I don't drink coffee. I've tried lots of coffee alternatives, but they just don't do it for me. However, Pique just launched their new Nandaka product, and I am LOVING it. It has a delicious blend of fruiting body mushrooms with cacao that combats bloat and curbs sugar cravings. I also love how its slow-release caffeine from probiotic, naturally-fermented teas provides sustained energy with no jitters or crash. Give Nandaka a try and let me know what you think! ā˜•ļøĀ 

Ā .WHAT Iā€™M REFLECTING ON.Ā 

10 year since my T1D diagnosis. This February marks 10 years since I was diagnosed with type 1 diabetes. Wow ā€“ what a journey itā€™s been. Thanks to my superhero Mom, I was able to get to a doctor before I went into a crisis situation, which is actually the reality for a lot of other people at the time of their diagnosis. I had to learn quickly how to manage my disease, but was eventually able to own my power and health. Now, insulin is another tool in my superhero toolkit šŸ¦øā€ā™€ļø You can own your power too by getting informed and taking action to screen for type 1 diabetes early. The more you know early, the more you can do to prepare and feel empowered about your health. Learn more about your screening options at The1Pledge.com. Iā€™m honored to be a spokesperson for Sanofi and The 1 Pledge movement.

Motivation is a lie. I recently joined my friend, Adam Grant, on his podcast ReThinking. We talked about hustle culture, consistency, mantras and why I think motivation is a lie (itā€™s about momentum!). If you are in need of some fuel to get going today, listen to our conversation and let me know how you level up. šŸš€

Nominate a superhero in your life: As yā€™all know, I firmly believe that superheroes are real, and they surround us every day. My mom stands out as one of my personal superheroesā€”a Cuban refugee and doctor who learned English by watching PBS.

This month, Iā€™d love to learn about the superheroes in your lives and highlight their stories. Do you have someone you'd like to nominate as a modern-day superhero? If so, fill out this quick form and let me know! šŸ¦øā€ā™€ļøĀ 

The Swagger Society community is a powerhouse of hustlers, and I'm constantly inspired by the incredible stories and accomplishments you share with me. Now, it's time to share them with all of you!

Name: Shira Lazar

Hustler Highlight: Launched The Jomo Journal: A Daily Practice for the Joy of Missing Out with my well-being company Peace Inside Live! Available on our site or on Amazon. Over 60 editions of my weekly newsletter, The Alpha published!

Self-Care Staple: Popcorn with melted vegan butter, a bath, cozy bathrobes, sleeping in without an alarm.

Quote on Repeat: 'At the end of the day people won't remember what you said or did, they will remember how you made them feel.' - Maya Angelou

Whatā€™s Up Next? Launch a weekly audio/video series that brings together tech and well-being, being a contributor on a national network show, getting my book proposal done and stop biting my nails!

Socials: instagram.com/shiralazar | twitter.com/shiralazarĀ 

Interested in meeting other like-minded hustlers or sharing your highlights with The Pivot community? Explore the Swagger Society private app to keep connecting, pivoting, and leveling up!

Thanks for reading, Hustlers. Go out there, pivot with power, and stay curious about whatā€™s next.

Xx Robin ArzĆ³n

Got feedback or a question? Hit reply and tell me what you thinkā€¦Iā€™m always looking to level up.